2017 EXCITED Digital Learning Festival

Carrabane NS was invited to the 2017 EXCITED Digital Learning Festival to showcase our work as a Digital School of Distinction.

Commenting on the event held in 2016, organiser Ciaran Cannon TD said “One of the key challenges for growing the adoption and harnessing the power of digital learning is recruiting and inspiring teachers and parents who are not fully utilising technology. This festival is open to all who want to be immersed, informed and energised about creating a better future for our students.” 

From left to right: Ciaran Cannon, TD, Gerry Murray, Principal, students Orla Coyne, Siofra Donohue, Minister for Communications, Climate Action and Environment, Denis Naughten TD, students Colm Randles, Eamonn Corban, Mark Cormican and Therese Kelly, Teacher and ICT coordinator.



Carrabane N.S. at the Bebras® National Finals

Carrabane National School at the National Finals of Bebras® Computational Thinking Challenge

Every November the international Bebras®Computing Challenge is run to motivate students to problem-solve based on informatics concepts.  The Challenge is made of a set of timed short questions called Bebras® tasks and are delivered and completed online.  Tasks can be answered without prior knowledge about computational thinking or information and communication technology, but are clearly related to computational thinking concepts.  Participants get 45 minutes to answer 15 multiple-choice questions that focus on computational and logical thinking.  The Bebras® Computing Challenge is an international competition — in 2016 over 1,610,000 students from 34 countries took part.

This year was Ireland’s first year to take part in the Bebras® Computing Challenge which was launched by the Irish Computer Society Foundation and supported by Science Foundation Ireland and the National University of Ireland, Maynooth.  Students in Carrabane National School participated in this challenge in November and we were delighted when four of our students, Aoife Keane, Daniel Egan, Mark Cormican and Vivienne Rushe qualified for the National Bebras Finals.  These finals took place last Saturday, 22nd April in NUI, Maynooth and we were thrilled to learn that Vivienne Rushe scored highest in her category at the National Finals.  Congratulations to Vivienne on an outstanding achievement.  We are very proud of all of our students who reached the finals and congratulate them on this achievement.  And remember, this challenge will take place again in November so keep practising and it could be you next time! 

‘Write a Book’ competition run by Galway Education Centre

Congratulations to the ‘Write a Book’ winners from our school who attended an award ceremony in the Radisson Hotel on Monday.

The winners are: Senior Infants – Eoghan Geraghty, 1st Class – Mairead Duffy,                 2nd Class – Emma Reidy, 3rd Class – Siofra Donohue, 4th Class – Cormac Tuohy,           5th Class – Adam Dolan,  6th Tadhg Connaughton.


International Autism Awareness Week

Special thanks to Nicole from Galway Autism Partnership who visited our school today to talk to the children for World Autism Awareness Week.  During the discussion, Nicole showed an excellent video Amazing things happen which is an introduction to autism that aims to raise awareness among young non-autistic audiences, to stimulate understanding and tolerance in future generations. It is intended to be viewed, discussed and shared widely by anyone but especially teachers and parents:


21st Century Learning in Carrabane!

There was great excitement in St Joseph’s NS Carrabane last week when it was announced that four of our students had qualified to compete in the Bebras National Finals in Maynooth University next April.

The Bebras Computing Challenge introduces computational thinking to students by allowing them to solve interactive tasks online.  It is run in over 30 countries.  The aim of the Bebras competition is to get students all over the world excited about computing.  The school received the Digital Schools of Distinction Award in 2016.

Pictured from left: Gerard Murray, Principal Teacher, Aoife Keane, Daniel Egan, Mark Cormican and Vivienne Rushe, National Finalists and Therese Kelly, School ICT Coordinator.